Best Of 2010: English Music

January 2, 2011 at 11:09 am | Posted in ~Special | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the last “Best Of 2010” post! I’ve always had a hard time finding English artists to add to my library. I do enjoy some of the mainstream music that comes out in North America but it loses its replay value and gets old fast. I’ve always been on a search for more English artists to add to my library and in 2010 I added the most English artists I’ve ever added to my library in previous years.

Best Discoveries

Amerie

Amerie, now going by the name Ameriie, is another artist that grew on me. In 2009, when her fourth album, In Love & War, came out I thought it was pretty good. I eventually removed her from my library but in 2010 I heard her new song, Outside Your Body and thought it was weird so I went back and checked out In Love & War again. Just like Rachel’s album, it was much better than I remembered and I went through her whole discography and now she’s my favourite R&B artist. She has a great voice, it’s very powerful and she has tons of hot tracks.

Rachel Stevens

I was in need of some new music in the summer and I decided to revisit Rachel Stevens’ album Come And Get It. It was better than I remembered and I became addicted to it. She’s one of my favourite artists now and Come And Get It is one of the best albums I’ve heard in a while and it’s six years old. Crazy Boys, Some Girls, I Will Be There and Secret Garden are still part of my musical obsessions and the more I listen to them the more I love them. Rachel gave birth to her first child, Amelie, in November so congratulations to her!

Robyn

I’ve been hearing about Robyn for ages and I listened to her self-titled album, Robyn, but I can’t remember what I thought of it. After hearing about her Body Talk series I finally decided to listen to the album and that was all it took. I fell head over heels for her and immediately went after the rest of her discography. I love her albums and Body Talk is one of the best releases of 2010, hands down. She’s an eccentric artist, her electropop music is contagious and she’s just so darn lovable. I’m definitely going to keep my eye on her from now on.

Best Cover

Christina Aguilera – Bionic

It was so hard to decide for this category that I had to have a tie. Bionic’s cover art is flawless. It looks crisp and is a great representation of the music. The whole concept is clever and the half human, half robot face with Christina’s signature red lipstick is stunning. She always brings it with her covers and Bionic’s photo shoot is her best yet. While the cover may look simple it’s actually highly detailed especially the robot half of the picture because there are symbols and names representing important things for Christina.

Robyn – Body Talk

Robyn also had some incredible cover art for her Body Talk series, the best one being the cover for the full album Body Talk. The font, the colours and the whole look is eye catching. I could be wrong but I’m pretty sure that the squares around her are hanging from string which is extremely creative. I love how it looks like a distorted image of her. It’s just really effective, cool and everything you could hope for in cover.

Runner-up: Janelle Monáe – The ArchAndroid

Best Single

Jade Valerie – Don’t Tell Me I’m Wrong (feat. Brian)

This single literally came out of nowhere. I wasn’t expecting Jade to release anything this year so it was quite a nice surprise. I’m also excited to see that this is under her solo name, Jade Valerie. I thought that she wouldn’t release under her name for a while because her next album was said to be under her other project name, Eternity ∞. Regardless of what name her next album is going to be under I love the sound of this track. It’s super catchy and Brian’s voice goes nicely with Jade’s. I can’t wait to see what she’s planning to do in 2011 and if this track is any indication it’s going to be awesome.

Runner-up: Christina Aguilera – You Lost Me

Best Video

Robyn – Dancing On My Own

This was another tough one because I couldn’t remember any of the videos from 2010. I just chose the most recent one that I love and that happens to be Robyn’s video for Dancing On My Own. It’s not as creative as some of the other videos that have come out in 2010 but I love that it’s simple. Robyn looks great and the outfits are nice, especially the white and black one that she wears for the scenes where she’s standing in front of the microphone stand. Robyn breaks out in some nice dance moves a few times during the song. It a great video that suits the song well and it’s nice to look at.

Runner-up: Robyn – Hang With Me

Best Mini-Album

Robyn – Body Talk Pt. 1, Pt. 2, and Pt. 3

I wasn’t sure what I would put for this category because not many English singers I listen to release mini-albums but then I realized that Robyn not only released Body Talk as a full album but also released it as three shorter albums. By releasing it like this Robyn was able to stay in peoples’ minds longer because if she released a full album she would promote it for a few months and then eventually disappear. This way she was able to stay inspired and this format also prevented the series from having any filler. Each song on the album is a high quality and irresistible electropop tune. This set of releases was all it took for me to become obsessed with her. This is one of the best releases of 2010 and one of the most interesting concepts. This is pop music at its best.

Runner-up: None

Best Album

Christina Aguilera – Bionic

This was an easy pick for me. Out of all the artists of 2010 Christina deserves this title. Bionic was my most anticipated English release and it surpassed all of my expectations. The album is everything I wanted from Christina. I wish I would have had the time to review it before this post so I could talk about it more but I’ll just say that Christina and electropop equals all kinds of amazing. What I don’t understand is how the album garnered all the hate that it did. I thought that it would be well received but it flopped badly. It’s a shame because the album has a ton of amazing songs.

Runner-up: Robyn – Body Talk

Best Artist

Christina Aguilera

Even though 2010 was a terrible year for Christina, she’s still the best artist. Bionic was the best pop album of the year, she starred in her first movie, Burlesque, and had eight songs featured on the soundtrack for the movie. It was a great year to be a Christina fan but things didn’t go so well for her. Bionic flopped, she was labeled a copycat and she had a divorce. She became a target for many people and she was bombarded with a large amount of hate. However, despite everything that happened to her she didn’t falter once. She didn’t let any of the negative opinions about her stop her and she pushed through it all. She even went back in the studio to start recording new material. Say what you want about her but she really impressed me and I have a newfound respect for her.

Runner-up: Robyn

The English albums in 2010 were so phenomenal and I was surprised by how original they were. Some other artists that I enjoyed include Florence + the Machine, Marina & the Diamonds, Little Boots, Janelle Monáe and iamamiwhoami. Overall, the releases in 2010 were much more interesting than the ones from 2009.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Okay you had me at Bionic as album-of-the-year. That album is the most renowned flop-esque album in recent history! “No Getting a Hit Tonight” barely reached the top 30. Still, I guess it wasn’t that-bad of a single, but after the FLAWLESS Back to Basics era… where did Bionic come from? I guess the pressure to compete with Gaga’s success at the time.

    • Bionic may have been a commercial flop but it’s such a great album. I really love how it turned out and I like it much more than Back To Basics. Everything went wrong for her that year and her vision ended up polluted because of her record label. It’s a shame but I’m glad she’s moving on and gearing up for her next single which should be out soon!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

